top of page
Search
Grant Odyssey

Ms. Cotrell: A Lancer Teaching ASL!

Updated: Oct 10, 2023



By: Fernando Leiva

Written September 20, 2023


American Sign Language is a recently incorporated language for many campuses across LAUSD. This year, Ms. Cottrell arrived as Grant’s new ASL teacher. Below is an interview with her:


Good afternoon! To give some context, what has been your previous teaching experience?

  • I was a substitute in the Hart District [Santa Clarita] all of last year. So this is my first year having my own classroom as an ASL teacher.


What brought you to Grant?

  • The [school] environment. One of my professors had told me about [Grant],. so I reached out to the principal and they seemed super friendly. I loved it here!


How did you come to teach ASL?

  • I started taking ASL in my sophomore year of high school because I was struggling with public speaking and presentations. I fell in love with the language and studied it more, did my undergraduate degree in ASL, and now I’m teaching it!


What values do you hope to instill in your students?

  • To be able to understand cultural differences. There is a massive [cultural] difference between the deaf community and hearing people, so understanding ways to communicate and to bridge those gaps [using language].


What are some of your hobbies and interests?

  • I love baking, it is one of my favorite things to do! I also love reading and swimming.


Is there an activity you would like to check off your bucket list?

  • Honestly, scuba diving would be cool— but I’m also terrified of the ocean, so, kind of ups and downs.


If you could have dinner with one person, living or not, who would it be and why?

  • Carrie Fisher– she was an activist for people, so that kind of stuck with me as a kid growing up.


Any particular movie or book you enjoy a lot?

  • For a movie, I love the Star Wars series. I’m also currently reading A Court of Thorns and Roses.


Is there a piece of media that you think represents the deaf community in an accurate light?

  • I think CODA is a really good movie. It shows a lot of what hearing children of deaf adults have to go through and be an interpreter for them [their parents]. So, that’s a good cultural aspect that I want my students to recognize.


What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

  • Don’t stop trying. It doesn’t matter how many times you have to try, keep trying. And if you’re in a rough spot– communicate. So, communicate and keep going.


Welcome to the Lancer community Ms. Cottrell, and thank you for your time!





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page