top of page
Search
Writer's pictureSKYE JOHNSON

Q&A with JV baseball player Jacob Arrelano


Joshua Kahn  

5/1/24

Jacob Arellano is a JV baseball player at Grant High School who has continuously shown dedication and commitment to the baseball program. Read below to learn more about his journey!


Q: How long have you played baseball, and what position do you enjoy playing the most? 

A: 7 years playing baseball and my favorite position is second base. 


Q: What team do you admire, besides your JV team? 

A: The Los Angeles Dodgers.


Q: What’s your favorite baseball memory or highlight from your career? 

A: When I caught a ball which was almost a home run!


Q: Do you have any pre-game rituals or superstitions? 

A: Nope! I don’t have any rituals or superstitions. 


Q: Who is your baseball role model and why? 

A: Mookie Betts from the LA Dodgers because he is fast and is nice to the fans. 


Q: How do you handle pressure during a game? 

A: I often play rock, paper, scissors with my glove to calm my nerves and gain focus. 


Q: Have you ever hit a home run? Describe the feeling. 

A: I haven’t yet hit any home runs,  but I have hit 3 inside the park homers which is when a batter hits the ball and runs all four bases without the ball leaving the field. This was an amazing feeling since I finally felt like I was in the major leagues. 


Q: What is your favorite baseball movie and why? 

A: The Sandlot because it's funny and entertaining. The movie follows the career of a new baseball player, which is extremely relatable and interesting. 





I then asked Jacob some questions about his cultural background: 


Q: As a Mexican baseball player, do you have any family traditions related to baseball or any other sport you played?

A: I played soccer every year and after every baseball and soccer game, we would go to Shakies to celebrate! 


Q: What’s your favorite dish or food? 

A: My favorite food would have to be torta bread with meat, sour cream, and salsa in a sandwich. 


Q: Have you ever visited Mexico? What was your favorite part of the trip? 

A: I’ve been to Mexico 2 times and my favorite part was seeing the border. It was cool seeing how the two countries connected. 


Q: Are there any Mexican baseball players that you look up to and why? 

A: Yes! I look up to Mookie Betts, who inspires me to keep chasing my dreams!


Jacob also expressed that he is a Philadelphia Eagles fan, so we spent the remainder of the interview discovering his passion for the team!


Q: How did you become an Eagles fan? 

A: I saw the miracle at the meadowlands, which drew me in! I call this a miracle as the game was at a whopping 17-12, with the Giants being significantly ahead. However, the Eagles managed to unite and secure a win, shocking us all!


Q: Whose is your favorite Eagles player, past or present? 

A: Micheal Carmicheal.


Q: Have you ever been to Lincoln Financial Field? 

A: Two times! One for the Eagles vs the Cowboys game and another for the Buffalo vs Philly. 


Q: If you could meet any Eagles player, who would it be and why? 

A: Davante Smith who is a wide receiver because he is underrated and I love him!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page