top of page
Search
Writer's pictureSKYE JOHNSON

Student Spotlight Series: Jessica Lopez 



By: Nivin Nawar 

Written: November 6, 2023 


This spotlight highlights Jessica Lopez, an active member of the Grant Cheer team! Read below to learn more about Jessica and her interests!



Tell us your name, your grade, and how long you have been attending Grant.


My name is Jessica Lopez, I’m in 12th grade and have been attending Grant for 4 years.


What are you involved in on campus? (Think about leadership roles, ASB, athletics, and clubs; tell us everything you are involved in or passionate about!)


I have been a part of the cheer team since my freshman year, and I have been a part of BSU and the Mental Health Awareness Club.


How did you begin to get involved on campus?


I started by joining a sports team, and then from there more opportunities to get involved opened up. I also made friends and I would join whatever clubs that they were a part of.   


What do you love about Grant the most?


One thing I really love about Grant is how supportive the adults at the school are towards students. You can tell they all want what's best for the students. I also really love that the school color is orange :)


Who inspires you to be the best version of yourself? (family member, teacher, coach, friend?)


My first cheer coach, coach Ariea inspired me to be the best version of myself. She is the reason why I am so passionate about cheerleading. High school wouldn’t have been the same without her. My sisters are also a reason why I want to be the best version of myself, they have supported me all throughout high school, and I look up to them. 


What are your future goals and aspirations? (high school and beyond?)


Some of my future goals after high school are to join a college cheer team and to start my own business. 


What advice would you give to a younger Lancer?


Some advice I would give to a younger Lancer is to try your best to get involved. You will make the best memories if you get involved, and remember it is always okay to step out of your comfort zone. If you don’t step out of your comfort zone because you are scared you will miss out on making good memories.





29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page